VSR and Schandorff return with new co-driver Yazid

10 February 2020

Vincenzo Sospiri Racing and Frederik Schandorff are returning to GT World Challenge Asia Powered by AWS this season with a fresh look and new co-driver.

The team’s bright white Lamborghini Huracan GT3 switches to the manufacturer’s familiar green after moving from Pro/Am to Silver Cup where Schandorff is joined by Afiq Yazid.

The Malaysian won Super Trofeo Asia’s overall title in 2017 and ‘18 before taking the Pro/Am crown last season. He also finished second in the same category’s World Finals two years ago.

Schandorff, meanwhile, returns for a second season in Asia’s biggest GT series after establishing himself as a front-runner alongside Am co-driver Alex Au. The duo finished third in the Pro/Am standings thanks to several class podiums and one victory before the Dane won Super Trofeo’s World Final in Jerez.

He will also represent VSR in the Italian GT Sprint Championship, while the team’s Asian programme is supported by Super Trofeo racer and long-time Lamborghini aficionado Kumar Prabakaran.

“I can’t describe how it feels to have the chance to drive another year with this fantastic team,” said Schandorff. “I’m looking forward to 2020 and am more ready than ever to go for the title with VSR and my new team-mates. I can’t thank the team, Lamborghini Squadra Corse, and of course my sponsors – PR Electronics – enough for this opportunity.”

Team owner Vincenzo Sospiri added: “I’m very happy to confirm this important programme for my team and we are all looking forward to the challenge of running cars on two continents with the invaluable support of Kumar Prabakaran, Giorgio Sanna and the Lamborghini Squadra Corse family. We have a strong driver line-up in both championships and I’m particularly proud that drivers like Schandorff, Tujula and Nemoto have chosen to continue with my team and we will all do our best to help them continue to forge successful GT careers.”

Sepang hosts the opening round of GT World Challenge Asia’s 2020 campaign on March 28/29. Buriram, Fuji, Suzuka and two events at Shanghai – the second a three-hour endurance race – complete the championship’s six-round, 11-race schedule.