Am class champions AMAC Motorsport confirm Fanatec GT World Challenge Asia Powered by AWS entry

Am class champions AMAC Motorsport confirm Fanatec GT World Challenge Asia Powered by AWS entry

AMAC Motorsport will contest all six Fanatec GT World Challenge Asia Powered by AWS rounds this year with ‘reigning’ Am class champions Andrew Macpherson and Ben Porter.

The Australian duo won the title in 2019 before the global pandemic put paid to the regional series’ following two seasons.

Now the team and same driver combination is returning, albeit with a blast from its past in the shape of a 991-generation Porsche 911 GT3 R, which replaces the team’s familiar red Lamborghini Huracan.

The Porsche, known to the team as ‘Moni’, is an ex-Manthey Racing example that has been in AMAC’s possession and raced Down Under for several years. Its previous competitive outing came in a Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS event at Bathurst last season.

Nevertheless, Australia’s Covid-19 restrictions have prevented the team and its drivers from racing regularly over the last two years. And, as such, Macpherson can’t wait to return to Asia where AMAC has fond memories.

“Mixing it on track with some of the best GT3 teams and drivers is always tough, hard fought and enjoyable, but it’s the camaraderie off track in Asia that I’ve missed the most,” he said. “I’m really looking forward to catching up with all of our friends up and down the paddock, as well as visiting some of our favourite circuits and experiencing new ones like Sugo, Okayama and Mandalika for the first time.

“AMAC Motorsport has a long history with Porsche in Australia that stretches back to 2013 – well beyond the 991-generation car we’re racing this year. Now we’re looking forward to the challenge of racing that model in a different region. Under the management of former Porsche mechanic Steve Bugatto, and along with the continued support from the Porsche family, we firmly believe we can match the current generation of cars and are eagerly awaiting the opening round.”

Sepang kickstarts this year’s six-round, 12-race championship on May 20-22. That’s followed by four races in Japan – Suzuka, Fuji, Sugo and Okayama – before the new Mandalika circuit in Indonesia closes out 2022’s campaign.